Roll with the younger Ross

This past week we had one pitcher throw a complete game and it was a complete game shutout. If you can guess the pitcher you win a prize! Ok, actually you win nothing because I don’t have anything to give away. The only “neat” thing I could part with is a Tom Wilhelmson signed baseball, which after I acquired he immediately went down the take a few years ago. The pitcher I’m speaking of is only owned in 4.3% of leagues, none other than Ricky Nolasco! Yes, I’m as shocked as you are!

Sleeper Streamer of the Week

Last week’s prediction – Seth Lugo goes 6.2 IP, 7 H, 2 ER, 2 BB, 6 K

Lugo’s actual line: 6 IP, 6 H, 2 ER, 1 BB, 4 K & a WIN

Look at that, I did it again! I might have even been a little closer on my prediction this week than I was last week! If I keep this up people might actually start asking me for fantasy advice on a personal level! Ha!

Alright, I’ll try and challenge myself a bit this week and take someone owned less than 20% in leagues. Once you get down in that area it’s a bit tougher because you mix in the SPaRP eligible players who aren’t getting many starts, just coming out of the ‘pen on a regular basis. This week I’ll go with Joe Ross, owned in 19.6% of leagues. To me, I think Ross needs to be owned in probably about 40-50% of leagues. He’s got good stuff, his numbers just aren’t where they need to be. His ERA north of 5 and a WHIP of nearly 1.5 will scare off many, but his strikeout numbers are there, with a K/9 rate of 9.45. Take out Ross’s stinker to start the month of June in Oakland and he had an ERA just a touch above 3, much more like the pitcher he should be. Ross is trending back in the right direction and a matchup Tuesday against the hapless Mets should help continue that trend. Everything about being in D.C. on the 4th feels right. Call on the field: Ross dazzles in front of an extremely patriotic crowd –  7 IP, 6 H, 0 ER, 1 BB, 9 K

Sitting Mr. Popular

Last week’s prediction – Jake Arrieta goes 5 IP, 6 H, 4 ER, 3 BB, 5 K

Arrieta’s actual line: 4 IP, 6 H, 5 ER , 6 BB, 4 K & a LOSS

Finally, finally I picked a dud correctly! If you’ve been following you know when I pick someone to be terrible they’ve sparkled and shined. Arrieta didn’t disappoint me this week. He was actually worse than I thought he’d be! The way the game began I thought the matchup between Arrieta and Scherzer was going to turn into a matchup of the bullpens. Arrieta rebounded nicely with a solid outing in Cincinnati yesterday, but there’s still a lot to be desired there. If you can buy low on him I’d jump at the chance, but be careful not to overspend.

My benching this week might seem to go with the easy guy, but I’ve got to sit Cueto Thursday at Detroit. Cueto had a rough month of June, posting an ERA over 4 while only recording 28 K’s through 6 starts. He had 9 K’s alone in the first start of the month! Cueto somehow managed a W and only allowed 3 ER against the Pirates the last time out, but those numbers are deceiving. Allowing 11 base runners in 5 innings isn’t a great thing. Cueto is only in his age-31 season, but his last 4 healthy seasons he’s compiled over 212 innings in the regular season alone. That’s a lot of mileage on that arm and it appears it may be wearing down. If that’s the case, Cueto is going to need to learn to pitch a little more rather than just rely on his stuff. Until he shows signs of doing that he’s not a guy I trust to throw out there each and every start. Maybe he should start being called by Johnny Ortiz. Call on the field: Cueto will struggle against a deeper, stronger AL lineup – 4.2 IP, 8 H, 5 ER, 3 BB, 4 K

Hero of the Week

If I was going with a 1-start pitcher it’d be tough to ignore Kluber again, but I’m rolling with a 2-start pitcher, racking up more points. I mentioned this guy at the start, but this week’s Hero is Ricky Nolasco. Nolasco faced off against the Dodgers and Mariners this past week and in doing so he didn’t allow a run! Nolasco turned back the clock a bit for us to his 2008 Florida Marlin days! Nolasco’s line for the week- 15.1 IP, 8 H, 0 ER, 2 BB, 12 K, 2-0 record

Zero of the Week

Man, I almost want to give this “award” to a reliever named Glenn Sparkman from the Blue Jays, but with him just coming off the 60-day DL I’ll give him a pass on the 7 ER in 1 inning of work across 2 outings since returning. I’m leaning the way of Junior Guerra. Guerra had the Red and Marlins his past week and, while having more K’s than IP’s, was awful. Guerra posted an ERA of 13.50 and a WHIP of 2.75. Congrat Mr. Guerra, you were a zero this week! Guerra’s line for the week- 8 IP, 16 H, 12 ER, 6 BB, 9 K, 0-2 record

 

 

All info courtesy ESPN.com & baseball-reference.com

Leave a Reply

